Susquehanna-Chemung Action Plan -- ad hoc Advisory Committee

An Ecosystem-Based Watershed Management Plan:
Susquehanna and Chemung Basins of New York

Water connects us all...

Residents of the Chemung and Susquehanna Watersheds of New York recognize that water is essential to their quality of life and economic wellbeing.  They embrace a sustainable approach to economic and community development that respects the natural functions of watersheds and minimizes flood risks.

Your insights and perspectives are needed to develop specific recommendations that will make this vision a reality. The process will be guided by an ad hoc Advisory Committee that meets several times per year through 2010 and 2011 (followed by occasional meetings to track progress and update the Plan) and meetings with various stakeholders. The ad hoc Advisory Committee met on January 29, 2010 as part of the Upper Susquehanna Coalition meeting and again on April 6, 2010.  Additional meetings have been held with various stakeholder groups to review Action Plan information and recommendations.  Meeting minutes and draft sections of the Action Plan can be found in the document libraryWe welcome your comments and contributions.

We encourage everyone who is interested to participate. In particular, we are requesting that county Water Quality Coordinating Committees, regional economic development committees and other interested organizations appoint a liaison to the Advisory Committee. In addition to meetings, there will be opportunities to review drafts, make suggestions, share information, sponsor stakeholder discussions, etc. 

The ad hoc Advisory Committee is a volunteer group of interested people representing agencies and organizations. They are listed here with a link to their webpages, if available.  Watch for details of upcoming meetings.

Please contact Chelsea Robertson at  if you are interested in becoming a member.

American Red Cross - Jaclyn Boushie
Binghamton Regional Sustainability Coalition - David Currie
Binghamton University Center for Integrated Watershed Studies - Weixing Zhu
Broome County Environmental Management Council - Stacy Merola
Broome County Planning Department - Beth Egitto, Frank Evangelisti
Broome County Industrial Development Agency - Richard D'Attilio
Broome County Soil and Water Conservation District - Chip McElwee
Carantouan Greenway - Martin Borko
Chemung County Chamber of Commerce - Kevin Keeley
Chemung County Stormwater Coalition - Paul Kingsbury
Chemung Valley Audubon Society - Bill Ostrander 
Chenango County Water Quality Coordinating Committee - Rob DeClue
Cornell U Cooperative Extension of Broome County - Kevin Mathers
Cornell U Cooperative Extension of Schuyler County - Danielle Hautaniemi
Cortland County Business Development Corporation - Garry VanGorder
Cortland County Planning Department - Daniel Dineen
Cortland County Soil and Water Conservation District - Amanda Barber, Jared Popoli
Cortland County Water Quality Coordinating Committee - Amanda Barber
Delaware County Planning Department - Nicole Franzese, Michael Jastremski
Delaware County Soil and Water Conservation District - Rich Weidenbach
Elmira-Chemung Transportation Council - Jay Schissell
Environmental Emergency Services - Mike Sprague
Federation of Sportsmen - Cortland County - Gary Davis
Finger Lakes Land Trust - Andy Zepp
Finger Lakes Resource Conservation and Development Council (RC&D) - Dick Winnett
Friends of the Chemung River Watershed - Jennifer Fais, Jim Pfiffer
Izaak Walton League - Matt Webber
Madison County Planning Department - Scott Ingmire
Madison County Soil and Water Conservation District - Steve Lorraine
Madison County Water Quality Coordinating Committee - Mike Johnston
NOAA National Weather Service Forecast Office - David Nicosia, Mike Schaffner
New York Farm Bureau - Lindsey Wickham
New York Forest Owners Association - Dan Cleveland
NYS Department of Environmental Conservation - Tom Bell, George Brinkwart, Robert Capowski, Scott Cook, Ron Entringer, Peter Freehafer, Marie Kautz, David Lemon, Larry Lepak
NYS Department of Health - Audrey Lewis
NYS Department of State - George Korchowsky
NYS Department of Transportation - Pauline Burnes, Kathy Button, Zack McKenna
NYS Environmental Facilities Corporation - J. C. Smith
NYS Soil & Water Conservation Committee - Richard Lewis
NYS Water Resources Institute - Susan Riha
Otsego County Chamber of Commerce - Rob Robinson
Otsego County Planning Department - Terry Bliss
Otsego County Soil and Water Conservation District - Scott Fickbohm
Otsego Land Trust - Peter Hujik
Pipeline 4 Progress Network - Mike Fuller
Rogers Environmental Education Center - Amy Kochem
Schoharie County Planning & Development Agency - Shane Nickle
Schuyler County Partnership for Economic Development (SCOPED) - Kelsey Jones
Schuyler County Soil and Water Conservation District - Elaine Dalrymple, Jerry Verrigni
Schuyler County Water Quality Coordinating Committee - Bill Fearn, Steve Crounse
Sidney Center Improvement Group - Joe Lally, Ray Lewis, Larry Mott
Southern Tier Central Regional Planning and Development Board - David Bubniak, Chelsea Robertson, Janet Thigpen
Southern Tier East Regional Planning Development Board - Bob Augenstern, Tom Evans, Jennifer Gregory, Richard McCormick
Steuben County Environmental Management Council - Robert Popejoy, Rachel Treichler, Miles Vance
Steuben County Industrial Development Agency - James Johnson
Steuben County Water Quality Coordinating Committee - Amy Dlugos
SUNY Oneonta Biological Field Station - Matthew Albright, Willard Harman, Holly Waterfield
Susquehanna River Basin Commission - Tom Beauduy, Andrew Dehoff, Susan Obleski, Ben Pratt, Jim Richenderfer
Tanglewood Nature Center - Elaine Farwell
Three Rivers Development Corporation - Jack Benjamin
Tioga County Emergency Management Office - Richard LeCount
Tioga County Information Technology & Communication Services - Bill Ostrander
Tioga County Public Health Department - Erica Gifford
Tioga County Soil and Water Conservation District - Wendy Walsh
Tioga County Water Quality Coordinating Committee, Elaine Jardine
Tompkins County Environmental Management Council - Helen Slottje
Tompkins County Soil and Water Conservation District - Craig Schutt
Town of Owego - Dean Morgan, Debra Standinger
Trout Unlimited, Jim Lennox
Upper Susquehanna Coalition - Jim Curatolo, Erin Heard
US Army Corps of Engineers - Regina Bergner, Anthony Clark, Amy Guise, Judy Robinson, Leon Skinner
US Fish and Wildlife Service - Sandra Doran, David Stilwell
US Geological Survey - Edward Bugliosi
US National Park Service - Wink Hastings
Waterman Environmental Education Center - Scott MacDonald


Learn More

Additional information, references, and recommended actions may be added to these page as the plan is implemented and updated. If you would like to get involved and share resources or suggestions, please contact a member of the ad hoc Advisory Committee or STC staff, Chelsea Robertson (; 607-962-5092). Learn more about the Suquehanna-Chemung Action Plan by selecting issues from the menu on the left. Other resources include a Project Summary handout, information about Ecosystem-Based Management, and a document library with minutes and other information.


STC Regional Planning & Development Board  8 Denison Parkway East Ste 310 Corning, NY 14830
Phone 607.962.5092
Fax 607.962.3400
2019 STC Regional Planning & Development Board. All Rights Reserved.
Website Design by inCommand Technologies, Inc.